BikeART News

Farid extends lead in MSC 2015

Report from Sepang International Circuit FIM Superbike World Championship

Defending champion Muhammad Farid Badrul Hisam scored his third successive win of the season in the 600cc Supersport Championship at Round 2 of the Malaysia Superbike Championship (MSC), which was held in Sepang today.

Run as one of the support races for the eni FIM Superbike World Championship Malaysian Round, the former Malaysian Moto3 wildcard rider left it late until the penultimate lap to take over leadership of the 10-lap contest from second on the grid behind pole sitter and BikeArt Racing team-mate, Hazlanshah Mohd Noor.

Held as the last item on today’s programme, the race was initially led by Yamaha’s Ahmad AfifAmran before being overtaken by Hazlanshah mid-way through the race. Farid also made his pass through Afif and shadowed the race leader until the penultimate lap.

2015 WorldSBK Sepang Circuit - Malaysia Superbike Championship-001

The Malaysian Superbike Championship 2015

2015 WorldSBK Sepang Circuit - Malaysia Superbike Championship-002

Farid, Hazlanshah & Muzakir at the Podium

By winning today’s Race 1 and adding another 25 championship points, Farid, who won both races in Round 1 last May, extended his lead over Hazlanshah with a total haul of 75 points as his rival remained second with 60 points.

It was a grand outing for BikeArt Racing as its riders took the top five positions with Muhammad Muzakkir Mohamed completing the podium. German’s Ismael Smajli taking fourth place while Muhammad Fazli Mansuar. All were on Kawasaki ZX6R machines.

Race 2 will be held tomorrow at 11.45am to decide the winner for Round 2 with Farid, who recorded the best lap time for the race at 2 minutes 13.727 seconds on Lap 8, penned as the hot favourite.

Qualifying session for the Superstock Championship was topped by defending champion Britain’s Steve Martin. Striding a Kawasaki ZX10R machine, the SBK Martin Racing Team rider again showed that he will be the one to beat with an impressive time of 2 minutes 15.182 seconds around the 5,443-meter track.

Malaysian Nasaruddin Mat Yusop took second place; but almost two seconds slower with a best lap time of 2 minutes 17.096 seconds on his BMW S1000RR machine. Former champion Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin was third in the timesheet with a time of 2 minutes 17.096 seconds on his Kawasaki ZX10R machine.

In the Superbike Championship, former Australian superbike champion Cameron Donald again showed his class by topping the qualifying session. Twice a double winner in Sepang including one at the 2013 Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix support race, Donald clocked 2 minutes 12.737 seconds on his Suzuki GSXR1000 machine.

Martin, who competes in this category as well, clocked the second fastest time; edging two-time Supersports champion Ahmad FuadBaharuddin to third on the time sheet. Former Moto2 rider and defending champion, Zaqhwan Zaidi was fourth fastest on his Honda CBR1000 machine.

Both Superstock and Superbike championships will hold their opening race tomorrow. Race 2 will be held on Sunday.

Apart from the MSC races, the eni FIM Superbike World Championship also features the Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup as its support race.

Tickets for the race can be purchased at the circuit or via on-line at or by calling TICKET HOTLINE at 03-87782222.

The Malaysian Superbike Championship 2015

The Malaysian Superbike Championship 2015

Race 1 – Top 5 Finishers 

1.MuhammadFarid Badrul Hisham (Kawasaki ZX6R) 22’32.459s
2. Hazlanshah Mohd Noor (Kawasaki ZX6R) 22’32.854s
3. Muhammad Muzakkir Mohamed (Kawasaki ZX6R) 22’44.432s
4. Ismael Smajli (Kawasaki ZX6R) 23’13.484s
5. Muhammad Fazli Mansuar (Kawasaki ZX6R) 23’13.580s

Qualifying – Top 5 Qualifiers 

1.Hazlanshah Mohd Noor (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2’14.084s
2. Muhammad Farid Badrul Hisham (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2’15.209s
3. Muhammad Muzakkir Mohamed (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2’15.209s
4. Ahmad Afif Amran (Yamaha YZF-R6) 2’15.270s
5. Ismael Smajli (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2’18.866s

Qualifying – Top 5 Qualifiers 

1.Cameron Donald (Suzuki GSXR1000) 2’12.737s
2. Steve Martin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2’12.902s
3. Ahmad FuadBaharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 2’13.093s
4. Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda CBR1000) 2’13.227s
5. Karhu Jouni Ensio (Honda CBR1000) 2’15.468s

Qualifying – Top 5 Qualifiers 

1.Steve Martin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2’15.182s
2. Nasaruddin Mat Yusop (BMW S1000R) 2’17.096s
3. Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2’17.149s
4. MohdRadzi Omar (Honda CBR1000) 2’18.824s
5. Hasnur Rizal NurSastra (BMW S1000R) 2’19.348s

Team Sponsors








Motor World






Racing Boy